Promoting and Celebrating Engineering in Rochester 

Serving the Rochester Community for over 120 years!     

Membership Login

Log in

President's Message

<< First  < Prev   1   2   Next >  Last >> 
  • 11-Oct-2017 5:47 PM | Greg Gdowski (Administrator)

    It is the perfect time to submit a candidate for nomination as Engineer or the Year or Young Engineer of the Year.  This is a tradition of the Rochester Engineering Society that dates back to 1963 and its recipients include a highly respected group of technical and business leaders in the Rochester community.  For the sake of space a partial list of award recipients back to 1987 is shown below.  There are 15 Professional Engineers, 14 PhDs, a Dean of Engineering from RIT, and many presidents and CEOs of engineering firms.

    Engineers or the Year (2016-1987)

    2016:Diane M. Trentini
    2015:Robert L. Clark Jr. PhD
    2014:Lalit Mestha PhD
    2013:Maureen S. Valentine PE
    2012:Sergio Esteban PE
    2011:Brian J. Thompson PhD
    2010:Gary W. Passero PE
    2009:Kevin J. Parker PhD
    2008:Satish G. Kandlikar PhD
    2007:Harvey J. Palmer PhD PE
    2006:Thomas C. Mitchell PE
    2005:Sophie V. Vandebroek PhD
    2004:Neville F. Rieger PhD D.Sc. PE
    2003:Cornelius Illenberg PE
    2002:G. Michael Morris PhD
    2001:William C. Larsen PE
    2000:Kenneth G. Budinski
    1999:Salvatore A. LaBella PE
    1998:Duncan T. Moore PhD
    1997:Jay M. Eastman PhD
    1996:Walter Cooper PhD
    1995:Edward Maybeck PE
    1994:Michael Triassi PE
    1993: John M. Davis PE
    1992:Edwin P Przybylowicz PhD
    1991:Erwin G. Loewen PhD
    1990:William K. Pollock PE
    1989:William J. Stolze
    1988:Donald J. Bergmann PE
    1987:Keith W. Amish PE

    Our most recent Engineer of the Year helped form a Young Engineer of the Year award in cooperation with the Kate Gleeson foundation. The list of awards recipients since its start in 2007 is shown below.  They were all below the age of 40 and demonstrate exceptional engineering acumen as company managers and PhDs.

    Young Engineers or the Year

    2016:Danielle S. W. Benoit
    2015:Matthew Thomas Sidley
    2014:John M. Papponetti, PE
    2013:Courtney E. Reich, PE
    2012:Clement Chung, PE
    2011:Sherwin A. Damdar
    2010:Michael J. Walker, EIT
    2009:Nathan Gnanasambandam, PhD
    2008:Venkatesh G. Rao, PhD
    2007:Vishal Monga, PhD

    Nominate an Engineer or Young Engineer for consideration this year! More information about the EOY and YEOY nomination process can be found online at (Nominations are due by Dec 11th).

    The family of the last EOY shown in the list, Keith Amish, recently funded an RES scholarship in his name to recognize outstanding students. This is another great tradition of the RES and a reminder to also consider sending an application to engineering, engineering technology, science and technology students that have completed two years, maintained a 3.0 out of 4.0 GPA, and plan to continue forward to an ABET accredited degree and live locally.  Please review the application at

    We hope to see you all at next year's Rochester Engineering Society Gala to recognize EOY, YEOY, and scholarship winners.

    Celebrating Engineering, 

    Mike Triassi

<< First  < Prev   1   2   Next >  Last >> 

RES President

2018 October Message

Call or Fax Us
Office: +1 (585) 254-2350
Fax: 585-254-2237

Copyright © Rochester Engineering Society 

657 East Avenue
Rochester, NY 14607    

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software